You'll see Save and Save & Publish buttons and toggles throughout Audiences. Read below to understand how each one works and when's the best time to choose one over the other.
Select Save when you want to quickly save your audience while it's a work in progress, whether you're first building it or just made edits to it.
- When you select Save, counts will not be run for the audience.
Save & Publish
Select Save & Publish when you are finished building an audience and ready to use it.
- Counts for the audience will be run in the background when you select Save & Publish.
- You'll see that the counts are "Generating..." in the Audience List view and on the Customer Details tab.
- Only published audiences can be applied to campaigns.
- You can edit a published audience at any time.
- If you select Save after making changes to a published audience a new Saved version of the audience is created.
- If you select Save & Publish after making changes to a saved or published audience, the new audience will overwrite both the previously saved and previously published audiences. This is true even if a published audience is associated with a campaign. All campaigns using this audience will use the updated criteria the next time they are triggered to be sent.
View Published or Saved Audiences
On the Audience List, select Published to view published audiences and ...
select Saved to view saved audiences.
When Published and Saved are Identical
When a Saved audience has never been published or when a Saved audience and Published audience are identical (therefore only one version of the audience exists) the Published and Saved buttons are disabled.
Does it save it as a new, unpublished version? Meaning that campaigns using that published audience will continue to use the older version?
Hi John Ludas,
You would have to select 'Save & Publish,' if you only select save it will continue using the previously published Audience.
Let us know if you have any questions or concerns.
Please sign in to leave a comment.